21 Days

I’ve been away for a while as we’ve been pretty busy with some exciting things.

Last week we hosted a small surprise BBQ celebrating my parents 40th wedding anniversary. We have several close family as well as my mom’s maid of honour and her husband (whom we didn’t even know were coming for sure until they arrived!).   A good time was had by all, don’t ever underestimate the power of a simple get together. We had hoped to have it outside but it down poured all afternoon (enough that we had water in our finished basement for the first time ever – still haven’t figured out how it got in as it came up from the floor and the walls were bone dry). So 17 of us (including 2 toddlers) crammed into our small not-so-entertaining-friendly home and had a very good time.

Our other exciting news I will share with you tomorrow maybe with some pics (am I building some suspense?). Fun times!

You may be wondering about what the title of my blog is all about, well it’s time for a little challenge. I’ve decided to commit to writing everyday for the next 21 days. Some of you may think this is a stretch but for those of you who followed my old blog you will know that writing daily was something I used to do. Of course with a toddler, and a commitment (often faltering) to my health, and working part time, it’s not always at the forefront of my mind.

However the decision to do this has sprouted out of a conversation I had with a friend of mine about our gifts. The gifts God (or Creator or Higher Power or however you feel comfortable referring to them) has placed within us to use, give and share with others. They are the things we are especially good at, things that bring others up, heal them and coincidentally heal us as we share them.

Since being in a parenting role I have not felt all that spiritual (though I imagine it would be one of the most spiritual acts there is) nor have I been thoughtfully practicing exercising any spiritual gift giving or growing. I feel excited to remember people’s names and where I’m supposed to be on any given day. When I was speaking with my friend we were talking about how using our gifts and giving to others we are given strength in overcoming our own struggles. As we spoke she mentioned that I have a gift for writing. This was very complimentary especially because she doesn’t know I write or blog, she only receives emails from me.

This conversation made me think of my one of my latest posts Dear Mama, written for a friend and her family, she honoured me by saying that this post touched her and her loved ones very much. I don’t say this to toot my own horn but to share that this was a reminder to me that my gifts, your gifts, are given to share and change others’ lives as well as our own. It got me thinking about how I’ve slacked on using one of my gifts that I have felt drawn to use, all for a little more relaxing time. It has left my spirit feeling kind of flabby and out of shape and ready for a commitment to do better.

I have no certain clue what I will share each day for the next 3 weeks only that I will do my best to keep this commitment and do so humbly and desiring to give and receive from it.

I’d love for you to be a part of this project and think of ways perhaps you might too consider using your own gifts in new or renewed ways.

Chat to you soon 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a comment