Introducing ….

Huxtable!!! Our new dog!

DSC_0547

 

Yes, I’m crazy.  And I say I’m because Gent is not claiming to be a part of owning this dog.  Let’s just say there were a lot of negotiations that went into me getting this dog.  And apparently they were a good idea on Gent’s part because um … Lil’ Lady + Huxtable  when I’m at work or out = big trouble.  He says they know I’m gone and terrorize each other and if they were the same with me he’d be receiving terrible texts all day so it must be just in my absence they are bad.

Oh well. (Just kidding … sort of).

Huxtable is a 9  week old 3/4 Lab 1/4 Bernese Mountain dog mix who was one of two runts in the litter of ten.  He has, what I believe, is the perfect doggie disposition but altered by puppyhood which can be a challenge but I see the perfect potential.  Although I am his mama so I could be a tad on the biased side.

I have wanted to get a larger dog for a while once our other little pair were passed on to doggie heaven. I’ve never had one but just felt that I would enjoy the different dynamic.  Since being without my Parker just before Christmas my life has had a large void.  Probably more reason for Gent not to want another dog in my life.  He says they steal all of my love and affection.  I love my dogs.  Well, I loved Parker a lot.  I loved my little Grissom, but more in a ‘he’s my dog I gotta’ sort of way, not in a ‘he’s my fur soul mate’ sort of way. I can already tell my Huxtable will also be my fur soul mate, (although as I say that as he’s whining in his crate as I’m training him, intermittently screeching my ears off).

I picked him up a week ago today and it’s going really well so far.  Once we got through an ok first night and a rough second night we finally have achieved a good night routine and sleeping arrangement with him beside me on the floor on his own bed tethered to something strong.  At some point I think the tether will be able to go and he will automatically stay in his bed as he doesn’t really try to get away not but I don’t trust him yet obviously.

So far I’ve taught him to get in his crate, stay in for up to 50 minutes with some whining but he’s doing ok.  I’ve done a tone of reading and video watching on crate training and decided early on I would do it properly and not rush in fear of bringing on anxiety.  I am also working with him at least 3 times a day on ‘heel’ during walks, and again it’s slow but I’ve seen much progress in the past 2 days alone!  It takes a ton of patience but when you have an ‘agreement’ to live up to you do whatever you have to do!

Another reason we got Huxtable was because Lil’ Lady LOVES dogs and the bigger the better, I wanted her to have a beloved pet to grow up with.  He was also my idea of a second child (more on that later).

So yeah, as much as it’s a lot of work I am totally excited (even after a week of chewing, sleeplessness and whining) to do this and to see how he will become a great part of our family.  Hopefully Gent will come around too!

Here are a few fun photos of our Huxtable (by the way if you didn’t catch it he’s named after The Cosby Show’s family name, I LOVE Bill Cosby and loved the show growing up) with Lil’ Lady.

Sleeping peacefully under the table.

DSC_0560

Playing with a Kermit the Frog toy we sent to him while he lived with his sibs.

DSC_0562

Some fighting over the Kermit toy.

DSC_0575

Um, yeah one of them likes the crate more than the other.  Can you guess who?

DSC_0599

Leave a comment